Brussels – Hairs and scissors

After almost a year in Brussels I finally admitted I needed a haircut. I’m one of those people that has a hairdresser ‘back home’ who knows what I want and, as boring as it sounds, does the right cut for almost the right money. He is able to cut my hair in a way that means I don’t have to put too much effort in the morning to get it right, not to mention I don’t have to go back to him a couple of weeks later to fix it again. On the other hand I’m not against experimenting if it comes cheap enough.

Through the wonderful platform that is Facebook I found Sarah’s ad offering cuts for free as she needs to practice to become a hairdresser. It was my chance to dare. On Tuesday I went to the Eau Contre Air salon (rue du marché au charbon 35) where Sarah is training. I didn’t know her nor the salon and to be honest I started to get a bit worried.

Sarah is a nice young girl and she took care of me and my hair with patience, professionalism, taste and skill. She was closely watched by her boss who guided her throughout the process. I ended up a very happy customer: she was able to give me the perfect haircut even though I wasn’t able to explain in French what I would have liked and quite honestly I didn’t really know what I wanted until I saw the result. It matches my face in a pretty and original way as well as matching my personality.

I don’t know if she’ll be working at the Eau Contre Air hair salon after her training, but she will be great. As for the salon itself: the atmosphere is friendly, easy going and young. They listen to the customer and offer their advice in case the customer, like myself, doesn’t seem to know what he/she wants. I would recommend the place even if you don’t get a free cut!

Rispondi

